James Jean’s No Other Choice: artist edition and NEON poster compared
The signed print of 300 and offset poster of 1,000 share Jean’s film image but differ in paper, typography, dimensions and authentication.
RELEASE RADAR HQJames Jean’s image for Park Chan-wook’s No Other Choice appears in two distinctly specified paper editions: a signed and numbered artist-store print of 300 and a NEON offset poster of 1,000. They share the central composition but differ in size, typography, edition totals and price. The retained October 9, 2026 listings priced the artist-store edition at US$600 and the NEON poster at US$45. These are dated seller observations, not confirmed original issue prices.
The artist-store product page gives March 12 at 8 am Pacific Time without a year, but its official announcement dated March 10, 2026 explicitly announces that launch for the signed edition of 300. Together, the sources establish March 12, 2026 for that edition. NEON’s retained page does not state an original sale date; the artist-edition announcement does not date the separate offset poster.
A film image built around light
Jean describes discussing the project directly with Park after a long-held wish to work with the director. The film’s account of a veteran paper-industry worker losing his job gave the choice of paper particular resonance for him. His explanation also emphasizes the way cinematic light reveals the characters’ concealed impulses, which led him to pursue a print that could engage with light physically.
The composition gathers a family beneath a raised planter. Twisting tree limbs, flowers and flowing water form an enclosing landscape around the figures. In the artist-store image, the long fibres of the white paper remain visible around the printed area, making the sheet part of the visual encounter rather than an anonymous border. Jean identifies the material as Unryu-shi, or cloud-dragon paper, with long kozo fibres. He also credits printmaker Brad Keech and describes gloss on the water and stained-glass-like musical details in the corners.
Two different physical readings
The artist edition measures 33½ × 23 inches, with a 29 11/16 × 20-inch image. Its official photograph shows a generous fibrous border, the signature and illustrative numbering beneath the picture. NEON’s offset poster measures 24 × 36 inches and carries the film title in large lettering across the composition. The poster’s typography makes the cinema connection immediate; the artist edition gives the image and its paper surface more uninterrupted attention.
The distinction is consequential beyond the shared title. NEON specifies offset printing and a quantity of 1,000, but does not state that its poster is signed or individually numbered. The artist store explicitly specifies both signing and numbering for its edition of 300. A seller’s photograph of one cannot establish the production or authentication details of the other, and the different outer dimensions call for separate framing measurements.
The substantial price difference also accompanies a change in object, rather than two prices for an identical print. Jean’s artist edition foregrounds paper, gloss and the collaboration with his printmaker; NEON’s poster retains the image’s role in presenting the film. For someone choosing between them, the useful questions are which surface and presentation they want, whether the advertised signing matches that edition, and whether the image shown is the exact paper object being offered.
In the details
- medium
- Print on Unryu-shi with gloss treatments
- dimensions
- Print 33½ × 23 in; image 29 11/16 × 20 in
- paper support
- Unryu-shi, long kozo fibres
- edition size
- 300
- edition type
- limited
- signed numbered
- Signed and numbered
- artwork series
- No Other Choice
Release timeline
launch · Unknown
Official James Jean Store announcement published March 10, 2026: signed and numbered edition 300, sale begins 8:00 AM PT on Thursday March 12.
8:00 AM PDT · James Jean Store
Price unconfirmed · Availability observed: unknown
Checked Oct 10, 2026
Official release details ↗
Explore the variants
No Other Choice — artist edition
RELEASE RADAR HQSigned and numbered edition of 300 on Unryu-shi, with an artist-announced March 12, 2026 launch.
- Medium
- Print on Unryu-shi with gloss treatments
- Dimensions
- Print 33½ × 23 in; image 29 11/16 × 20 in
- Paper Support
- Unryu-shi, long kozo fibres
- Edition Size
- 300
- Edition Type
- limited
- Signed Numbered
- Signed and numbered
- Artwork Series
- No Other Choice
No Other Choice — NEON offset poster
RELEASE RADAR HQOffset poster edition of 1,000, with film-title typography; original release date and year unconfirmed.
- Medium
- Offset print
- Dimensions
- 24 × 36 in
- Edition Size
- 1000
- Edition Type
- limited
- Artwork Series
- No Other Choice
Sources & verification
- No Other Choice — artist edition — official product page ↗official · checked Oct 10, 2026
- No Other Choice — NEON offset poster — official product page ↗official · checked Oct 10, 2026
- James Jean Store — No Other Choice release announcement ↗official · checked Oct 10, 2026
- CV — James Jean ↗official · checked Oct 6, 2026
- James Jean — official site ↗official · checked Oct 6, 2026
- FAQ — James Jean Store ↗official · checked Oct 6, 2026
- James Jean — Avant Arte ↗authorized retailer · checked Oct 6, 2026
James Jean
Related reading
2026 Topps Mint Disney
2026 Topps Mint Disney. Preorder October 13, 2026. Configuration details pending.
Read the story ↗2026 Topps Neon Marvel — Mega Box
2026 Topps Neon Marvel — Mega Box. Launch October 14, 2026. 10 × 5 cards; One numbered parallel per box.
Read the story ↗2026 Topps Neon Marvel — Value Box
2026 Topps Neon Marvel — Value Box. Launch October 14, 2026. 7 × 5 cards; No numbered-parallel or autograph guarantee stated; special-insert packs may contain fewer cards.
Read the story ↗2026 Topps Neon Marvel — Hobby Box
2026 Topps Neon Marvel — Hobby Box. Launch October 14, 2026. 20 × 5 cards; Two numbered parallels.
Read the story ↗2026 Topps Update Series Baseball — Hobby Box
2026 Topps Update Series Baseball — Hobby Box. Launch October 14, 2026. 20 × 12 cards; One autograph or relic.
Read the story ↗2026 Topps Update Series Baseball — Jumbo Box
2026 Topps Update Series Baseball — Jumbo Box. Launch October 14, 2026. 10 × 40 cards; One autograph and one relic.
Read the story ↗2026 Topps Update Series Baseball — Value Box
2026 Topps Update Series Baseball — Value Box. Launch October 14, 2026. 6 × 12 cards; No autograph/relic guarantee stated.
Read the story ↗Nike Blazy — Varsity Red
Nike Blazy — Varsity Red (IM2523-600): 95 USD. US launch October 15, 2026 at 10:00 ET. See sizing and exact release details.
Read the story ↗Nike Air Max Goadome Low — Black
Nike Air Max Goadome Low — Black (IV4517-001): 175 USD. US launch October 15, 2026 at 10:00 ET. See sizing and exact release details.
Read the story ↗New Balance Made in UK Allerdale Moorland Textures
The Made in UK Allerdale UADWGRB pairs Bison and Military Olive suede with a $249.99 US launch scheduled for October 15.
Read the story ↗2026 Topps Chrome Formula 1 — Hobby Box
2026 Topps Chrome Formula 1 — Hobby Box. Launch October 15, 2026. 20 × 4 cards; One Chrome autograph per Hobby Box.
Read the story ↗Nike Air Foamposite Pro Premium — Summit White
Nike Air Foamposite Pro Premium — Summit White (IV6246-100): 250 USD. US launch October 16, 2026 at 10:00 ET. See sizing and exact release details.
Read the story ↗










