RELEASE
RADARHQ
THE RELEASE IS ONLY
PART OF THE STORY.
ArtHistorical release · SNIK

SNIK AFTERDAWN: hand-finished etching, main edition of 45

AFTERDAWN’s main edition uses etching rather than the screenprint process of OVERCOME, while sharing its own format with a separate gold-leaf run.

SNIK’s AFTERDAWN main-edition etching held up in the studio, showing a flower-covered portrait with yellow and pink hand-finishing.RELEASE RADAR HQ
SNIK’s AFTERDAWN main-edition etching held up in the studio, showing a flower-covered portrait with yellow and pink hand-finishing. Credit: SNIK. · Artwork © SNIK. · Image source

AFTERDAWN is a 2025 etching offered in two hand-finished editions through SNIK’s own shop. The main version numbers forty-five, measures 78 by 61 centimetres and is printed on 285gsm Fabriano Rosaspina Bianco. It is signed and numbered by SNIK, with an advertised price of £350. The product record dates the release to 18 September at 5 p.m. British Summer Time. A complimentary mini screenprint is included, although its title, dimensions and edition are not specified in the inspected description. Main-edition record.

The companion gold-leaf edition uses the same stated etching paper and sheet dimensions, but numbers fifteen and adds hand-applied 24-carat gold leaf. Its listed price is £595. That makes the finish, edition fraction and price the useful checks when distinguishing the two; neither a shared title nor the 78-by-61-centimetre measurement is sufficient. The £245 price difference is documented, but it provides no basis for predicting later market values. Gold-leaf edition.

AFTERDAWN also provides a clear process contrast with SNIK’s 2025 OVERCOME release at Bio Editions. OVERCOME is a single-layer screenprint on 330gsm Plike, measuring 102 by 72 centimetres. AFTERDAWN’s source instead names an etching and a different paper. A collection inventory should preserve those actual methods instead of describing both generically as “a SNIK print.” The distinction remains useful even before seeing either work in person: it establishes that the artist used different printmaking routes, different supports and different scales. It does not establish how either surface feels or behaves in a frame.

The word “hand-finished” also needs a precise reading. It applies to AFTERDAWN’s main edition as well as to its gold-leaf companion. Gold leaf is therefore an additional named treatment on the smaller edition, not the sole explanation for the hand-finished designation. The publisher does not quantify every manual intervention, and the product description does not state an AP or PP allocation. Those quantities should remain unknown rather than being guessed from a standard percentage of the numbered run.

For a buyer reviewing an existing example, the practical record is the title, 2025 work year, main edition of forty-five, signature and number, paper and sheet dimensions. If the included mini print is important to the purchase, establish whether that separate object accompanies the specific example. The gold-leaf listing asked buyers to allow three weeks for delivery; that was a release-specific fulfillment statement, not a promise for every later order or for main-edition stock. The original launch has passed, so follow the exact shop listing for any present purchase opportunity.

In the details

work year
2025
medium
Hand-finished etching
dimensions
78 x 61 cm
paper support
Fabriano Rosaspina Bianco 285 gsm
edition size
45
edition type
Main numbered edition
signed numbered
Signed and numbered
publisher
SNIK

Release timeline

  1. launch · UK; international orders described

    2025-09-18 17:00 Europe/London

    5:00 PM BST · SNIK

    £350.00 GBP · Availability observed: unknown

    Checked Oct 6, 2026

    Official release details ↗

Sources & verification

SNIK

Related reading

View all ↗